Looking back: CFDA Awards

The 2018 edition of the annual CFDA Awards will take place this evening at its new venue,
the Brooklyn Museum. have been previously announced by the American fashion governing body, while the award winners will be announced by host American actress, writer, director, and producer, Issa Rae.

Founded in 1981, the CFDA Awards gives recognition to womenswear, menswear, accessories and emerging talent, in the American fashion industry, in addition to journalism, influencers, positive change initiatives, and lifetime achievement.

Ahead of the awards ceremony taking place on June 4, FashionUnited looked into its archive to share previous highlights of the CFDA Awards over the years.

Ralph Lauren to be honoured with members salute at 2018 CFDA Awards

Ralph Lauren, one of the most memorable and iconic American designers, is set to be honoured with a special tribute during upcoming Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Fashion Awards.

Kim Kardashian West named CFDA Influencer of the year

The Board of Directors of the Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced that Kim Kardashian West will receive the Influencer Award at the Brooklyn Museum at the CFDA Awards 2018 on June 4th. Announced vis the CDFA website, Kim will be the first recipient of the CFDA Influencer award.

CFDA hires The Creative Group to take over artistic direction of CFDA Awards

CFDA has enlisted The Creative Group, Condé Nast to develop all of the print and digital materials surrounding the event, including the invitations and nominee videos. Previously, the creative direction of these materials was handled by Laird + Partners, however, this year, CFDA wanted a new take on things.

2015 CFDA nominees announced

The nominees for this year’s 2015 CFDA Award have been finalized, and it is quite the playing field.

CFDA Winners announced at inaugural ceremony

Last night was the CFDA awards ceremony, and of course there were several lucky designers who came out on top. This years CFDA winners have been decided. For women’s wear the winners were Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row, for men’s wear the winner was Tom Ford, and for accessories the winner was Tabitha Simmons.

CFDA awards to be televised?

Last week, the CFDA announced that they are partnering with the Weinstein Co. to film this year’s CFDA awards. In the last few days, there have been a lot of rumors over whether the CFDA would take the approach of doing it as a live broadcast, basically giving it similar treatment to something like the Grammys or Oscars.

Marc Jacobs and Thom Browne win at CFDA Awards

The annual Council of Fashion Designers of America Fashion Awards took place last night in New York and Marc Jacobs scooped the coveted Womenswear Designer of the Year, while Thom Browne took home the Menswear Designer of the Year accolade. Both of which have won the honours before, Jacobs in 2010, and Browne in 2013.

My Night at the CFDA Awards

By now you’ve ruminated over the red carpet gowns and considered the list of winners. But if you’re left wondering about the swanky event surrounding the fancy frocks and silver statue––the Trova doesn’t get the name recognition of its entertainment cousins, the Oscar, Emmy or Tony––then let me attempt to fill in the gaps.

Telfar Clemens wins CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund award

Last night, the fashion industry and members of the CFDA gathered for the announcement of the winners of the 2017 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund. Telfar Clemens of Telfar took him the top prize of 400,000 dollars. Becca McCharen-Tran of Chromat and Ahlem Manai-Platt of Ahlem took home the runners-up prizes of 150,000 dollars.

photo: CFDA awards webpage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *